4.3.4 Energy

For this exercise ,  I chose to draw with green and purple Liquitex ink with a brush, to allow for spontaneous sweeping marks that convey a sense of energy and movement. I also like that the ink doesn’t allow any erasing.

I was drawing quickly and just focusing on the movement of the whole figure, no details, changing between the different poses quickly too to keep quick flowing energy to my work as well. All A3 format:

img_5071img_5063img_5043img_5085img_5056img_5035img_5051

The drawings are of various success, but I think they all do convey a sense of energy. I am also content with how I managed to fill the A3 sheets as I otherwise often have the issue to make the figures too small and not use the entire sheet.

Here I experimented with drawing in black ink on a watercolour paper that I had covered with water, similar to the Antony Gormley experiment in the Sketchbook section:

img_5098img_5095img_5090

I like the uncontrolled element of the bleeding ink. I think these drawings express movement and energy too. I will continue to explore drawing with ink on wet paper, it is something that really sparks my imagination.

This is a more finished drawing in Conte sticks, on A2. I believe the pose expresses energy well, but the smooth smudged pastels do not.

img_5030

I think the marks very more “Energy” before I smudged them and you can still see that it is a quick drawing:

img_5019

 

Leave a Reply

