4.3.2 Essential elements

For this exercise, I had to find some models online  ( Croquis Cafe) as I did not have access to a live model at the moment. I drew six different drawings of 10 minutes each exploring some different media , focusing on the whole of the figure and not details, emphasizing the three-dimensionality of the figure.

The first one is a simple graphite drawing in my A4 sketchbook:

img_4695

It is far from perfect, but I think the dynamics of the pose are clear and the proportions ok, just the back leg a tad short…

For the second drawing in my A4 sketchbook I chose turquoise ink with a pen:

img_4706

I really like the butt and the back, but the arms are too square.

I need to practice drawing larger formats, so for the third drawing I change to A2 and draw with conte sticks on a black paper:

img_4691

This is definitely my favorite drawing of this exercise. I think it has atmosphere and fluidity without getting too lost in detail. I loved drawing with the Conte sticks- so quick and light. I also think drawing with these sticks let me avoid being too focused on the outline and more on the tones.

For the next drawing I decided to try the Conte sticks on a white A2 sheet:

img_4709

I still like how the sticks make me draw more surface than line, but the proportions are off here, the back too square and the legs too short.

I decided to try another black A2 with Conte sticks as I felt very encouraged by the last one.

img_4710

I still really like the effect of the sticks on the black paper and am quite content with the legs and trunk, but the skinny arms and head sabotage the all over effect.

For the last of the six drawings , I try coloured pencils in my black A4 sketchbook:

img_4718

I like the playfulness of the colors and although the proportions are not perfect, I think  you can get a good feel for the pose. Here there is a clear movement of the right arm away from the central axis.

I have discovered that I really enjoy drawing on black paper and will explore the coloured pencils on black more. As for proportions: practice, practice, practice….


Adding one more drawing- coloured pencils and Conte sticks on A2 black paper:

img_5015

This drawing probably took quite a lot longer than the 10 minutes. I think it has a sense of three dimensionality that works well, and that the proportions are rather accurate as well.

Leave a Reply

