3.5.3 A limited palette study

For this limited palette study , I decided to go back to the roofgarden that I drew for the townscape sketch walk in color.

This is the study I did for that exercise:

img_1224-1

This time I step back a little further and focus more on what is going on on the roof and beyond, as the wall was most interesting for a study in color because of the many different shades of yellow, and not so much for a limited palette.

I use conte sticks in black, white and ochre and keep the square format on an A3 sheet.

img_1553

I feel this drawing captured the mood of the street and the building much better than the colored version. I also think there is a clear sense of depth. I enjoyed immensely working with the Conte sticks- Ā something I will experiment more with.

Leave a Reply

