3.4.2 Angular perspective

It took me by surprise how difficult it was to find a suitable building for this exercise in the city. You would think every street corner, every house has an angle, but to find somewhere with the right distance, a rather unobstructed view , without having to stand in the middle of a street and a place and without lots of people, was not so easy.

I started on a drawing of a beautiful church seen from Praca de Luis Camoes, but first I got all nervous about the perspective, and then about random people peeking over my shoulder. I don’t know why it would be rude to walk up to someone reading and stare into their book, whereas it seems to be socially acceptable to walk up to someone sketching and see what they are doing.  I am very shy about drawing and also had some technical difficulties tackling this, so had to move on to a quieter neighborhood.

I finally found a beautiful house on the corner of Praca Principe Real and Rua do Jasmim, where I could sit a little hidden. Here is the A4 sketch in pencil, no eraser.

img_9226

Ok, so still a lot to learn about angular perspective 🙂 It is definitely better than before I started this course, because then it would probably not even have been recognizable, but still a long way to go 🙂

When I came home I drew in a line for eye level, and put some newspapers around the sketchbook so I could extend all lines to the sides til they met the line of the eye level, far outside of my sketchbook.

img_9230

I am not entirely sure I have done this exercise well, but it definitely showed me to be more brave in letting the lines recede towards the eyelevel. In my drawing all lines were still too parallell and the angular perspective not clear enough.

To be continued… this is the kind of drawing I need a lot of practice to get… but I am less despaired as in the “at home ” exercises of Chapter 2, so there is a slight progress…


A few days later and the setting is very different – I woke up in Umbertine, Italy this morning and had a very quiet and calm moment walking around the farmhouse in the morning light. An new attempt to drawing angular perspective, A4 sketchbook and Uniball black pen to resist all attempts at using the eraser:

img_9365

It is still a quite “wobbly” house, but I am so relieved at being able to draw this without a major meltdown- now it is only a question of practicing and practicing 🙂 I still seem to be incapable of drawing a vertical line 🙂


Back in Lisbon where this week I am working in a tiny apartment  in Old Town, and looking out the window I see the angle of the neighboring house- very inviting for another go at angular perspective. The house is a little too close, but I am looking at it from the first floor, not from the ground.

img_0153

To be continued …..

Leave a Reply

