3.1.2 Larger observational study of an individual tree

Here I will draw my Portuguese corktree, the “soubreiro” with more detail. The characteristics of the cork tree are solidity, it has a heavy,thick, winding, gnarly trunk and branches, but then also lightness in the foliage of rather small leaves trembling in the wind. I like this contrast of heaviness and solidity of the base  versus the soft and light overall shape. It is a very generous tree giving thick layers of cork that is traditionally used for a multitude of products.

I will use a range of different pencils including my new 0,5 mm mechanical pencil for small detail and attempt a realistic drawing. Today I went to one of the incredibly amazing artsupply shops here in Lisbon and stumbled upon a paper called “papel vegetal” in A4. It’s very transparent and probably used for copying  or frottage, similar to my baking paper. I got the idea to draw a very detailed surface on one sheet, then the shading on other sheets and layer the drawing to create depth.

I am drawing a relatively young soubreiro, maybe about 40 years old. The older trees can easily be over 100 years.

Here I drew on 3 separate layers- the top one very detailed, the two bottom ones focusing on the shades:

 

When I put one over the other the contours get softer, and the drawing has more depth.

img_8620

I am quite happy with this experiment. It allowed me to try something new and I think it reflects the character of the tree well. It is still a very illustrative drawing though- something I will try to avoid in future.


A few more cork tree details from my sketchbook. I really am falling in love with this tree and will continue experimenting with other media too.

A simple black Uniball version:

img_9440

The number on the tree shows the year when the cork has been taken. Usually a corktree gives a new layer of cork every 9 or 10 years.

Leave a Reply

