Sketchbook pages 2

I have started on Part 2 of the course where colour appears and will start carrying some coloured pens and pencils around for my sketchbook.

First colorful doodle:

46DB0716-76E5-48FE-BADD-45D6378F7FBD

Ganesh: I completed the sketch of the Elephant headed God Ganesh- the remover of obstacles for my friend Kaz poem/invocation:

Ganesh with stone

My yoga mat- a flying carpet , my sweat towel- a magic cape: (here I used a drawing I did during the life drawing class and just let my imagination flow around that.)

My flying carpet

Today I got back the report for Assignment 1, and have committed to sketch more from reality than from otherworldly imagination. Especially I plan to tackle perspective and constantly sketch small corners of rooms I visit . This is something I really want to learn!

But here an idea from this morning: while I drove past the market on my motorbike, the bike before me was fully loaded with two huge green bags with all kind of produce inside, that all became shimmering green. Besides attracting me as an image, because it looked like a giant FLY with the bags as huge wings, it gave me an idea for the Monochrome drawings: any color put in colored plasticbags. I think it could be worth experimenting around once I get to that exercise.

Green bags

Tom lying by the pool:

IMG_20160604_0005

Trying out sketching white on black paper for the first time:

IMG_20160604_0003

And allowing some fantasy with that:

IMG_20160604_0002

The world, cubist…:

IMG_20160604_0006

Face with eyes:

IMG_20160604_0007

I just realized while logging this, that I lost the idea of colours in my doodling sketches- will start carrying some colour pencils again.

Ouch!- still haven’t gotten into the colour sketching :

Growing roots- Samastitihi (equal standing, connecting to Earth):

IMG_3817

Take 2:

IMG_3820

O dear- i think I have completely lost track of wanting to doodle more in colour again! I am about to log some more black and white line drawings. It has actually been a very very long time that I haven’t sketched anything at all. I am torn because I don’t want to sketch otherworldly, but then sketching from nature doesn’t really work out just yet without frustration, so in the end I just don’t sketch anything. Well, anyway just logging some new black liner pen doodling.

Mama:

IMG_4628

Stuck:

IMG_4622

Feelings:

IMG_4631

Me again:

IMG_4637

A path:

IMG_4613

Here I am drawing less detailed drawings with coloured pens:

A day on the beach…

IMG_5348

 

Line drawings, still life in sitio on the beach:

IMG_5093

Flowers struggling in the dunes:

IMG_5089

The many ways of holding a book:

 

Beyond my toes…

IMG_5079


Inspired by my visit to the Paula Rego Museum yesterday, I took a break from the course work and drew this “Lisbon garden” in oil pastels instead:

IMG_5692


A letter for you:

IMG_5941

How are you now my frozen fear bird?

IMG_5954

My fearbird has become my friend:

IMG_5948

Kapotasana- a whole world of feelings : (Kapotasana is a yoga pose that pushes me to encounter my deepest fears and anxiety and worry and awkwardness and there are just no words to describe how it feels being there, heart ripped open and turned inside out…That tiny figure on the mat is me bending backwards and holding on to my heels)

 

IMG_5971

Kapotasana again:

IMG_5977

Thistle:

IMG_5893

Close up of my flesh:

IMG_5896

Blossoming:

IMG_6027

Surya Namaskara- saluting the sun:

IMG_6033

This is me- I am getting worried- one breast is big and inflamed now, probably time for another check-up:

IMG_6039

And yes- I need to change the pen in my bag, although I love this orange ink, I realize I have only sketched in orange for too long 🙂

Tearbird fear bird- tell me your story:

IMG_6174

I bow down to the lotus feet:

IMG_6179

Lotusfeet:

IMG_6126

 

I bow down to the lotus feet:

IMG_6195

Leap of faith:

IMG_6186

Merging:

IMG_6203

Birds in my head:

IMG_6210

More esoteric shit :

IMG_6158

Back in Portugal again, and here I draw on a ceramic sardine (of course 🙂 )

IMG_6369

Anger:

IMG_6431

Complicated… delicate and loveable, but complicated.

IMG_6436

Just another angel:

IMG_6857

Threesome:

IMG_6840

Green thoughts:

IMG_6848

Ocean view:

IMG_6836

Eggs ????:

IMG_6832

A pink portrait:

IMG_6853

Just taking a break from my “at home” exercise despair 🙂 and this King (?) appeared. Maybe you can whisper me some secrets about perspective?

IMG_7120

So I committed to sketch from reality instead of this weird doodling, but then to do that I have to really set time apart and focus. Whereas for these sketches, I just let my pen go while waiting in a queue, or while watching a movie or even while taking decisions for my work. They don’t  interfere with my thinking of other things. So here are a few more scary doodles from the past days.. and THEN I promise to catch up with the reality drawings … Really! 🙂

IMG_7288IMG_7284IMG_7275IMG_7272IMG_7267IMG_7258IMG_7255IMG_7249IMG_7240IMG_7241

So : committing to sketching from life means a week of no sketching at all 🙂

But here I actually managed a reality sketch (one!!) before going off into doodling again. It is so that IF I have time to sketch from life, I do the coursework instead.

Breaking free:img_7942

And here doodles again:

I am ending Chapter 2 here. For chapter 3 my wish is to merge my free sketchbook with the actual coursework.

Leave a Reply

