1.1 Warm up- temporary drawings

As a warm up for Drawing one, I am encouraged to explore temporary unusual drawing , an exercise that I immediately love. I tend to become too strict when doing the coursework, so this is a perfect start to become more playful and spontaneous.

Smoothie drawings:

I just finished a red berry smoothie and see my turquoise pants through the almost empty glass. So now I start to draw with a spoon in the traces of smoothie:

These colors are really explosive!

Flowers:

And on the table I have a small bouquet of flowers in a glass, so moving the stems around here are some more breakfast drawings:

It is afternoon now and I have been seeing potential possible temporary drawings all day! Even boiling spaghetti, I get inspired to do a spaghetti drawing.

But these shadows are definitely worth remembering- as fleeting and temporary as possible. My daughter Ria is helping to document the process:)

Shadows:

 

Lightdrawing 

Here I am drawing with two flashlights in the dark, and taking photos with a long exposure, between 1/2 to 2 sec. It was a surprise bonus to discover that the flashlights had different colored lights.  I moved smoothly and constantly with both hands.

 

I shifted to holding many insence sticks instead, to have more filigrane lines and more freedom of movement. The results are random- chance drawings .

This is my favourite- a small lightfairy:

12349586_1073754329313733_605204409_o

 

Flower petals

Here in Bali women create beautiful offerings to the Gods and decorations with flower petals every day- temporary art and spiritual practice. I am so used to seeing this , that I don’t always SEE it anymore. And I realized that I have used flower petals to greet someone for a birthday or decorate a little here and there in the house, but I have actually never tried to create art like this myself. Today is Nyepi- the Balinese Day of Silence, so everyone is at home in quiet reflection and everything, including ATMs and the airport, is closed today. A perfect day to draw with flowers.

IMG_1082

I start with a stardesign: a compass , turning into a star, turning into a mandala:

 

I like drawing mandalas as a meditation. Now I remember the tradition amongst Buddhist monks to create very intricate mandalas with different colored sands. This superb very detailed mandala takes many weeks to complete, but as soon as it is finished, the monks will blow on it to destroy it, practicing non- attachment and reflecting upon the temporary character of all beings.

Another very simple mandala:

IMG_1098

Of course i must try to draw an eye. The eye appears all over my sketchbook. Shakespeare the cat is very curious at what is happening here.

This all -although fun- feels a little stiff and unoriginal, I try to create some less predictable designs:

 

I dont know if it is the choice of flowers, but it seems like whatever I “draw” has a whiff of cemetery and funeral designs.I like the three dimensionality and texture of the flowers, but I am not really content with any of the “drawings” or flowers as a media.

Then after cleaning everything up, I leave the orange flowers on the table with my incense holder and crystals- and there- the simple beautiful mandala I was looking for 🙂

IMG_1165

 

Dishwash liquid drawings

As suggested in the manual, I try out drawing with dish wash liquid in the sink. Some furry cosmic creatures emerge..:

 

Spaghetti drawings

Ok, so I couldn’t resist drawing with spaghetti. Second time pasta for dinner this week:) Its just so playful with the wiggly shapes and lines. Never again will I tell the kids not to play with their food ( Just kidding, they are old enough to tell me off, so this project was done in secret).

 

Leave a Reply

